Friday, December 30, 2011

Weird names

I feel sleepy right now.

I woke up today earlier than the usual (but I know it's noon already since I'm awakened by the heat and by my sister's cellphone alarm) and felt I got hang over because of the drinking session with Jun (Sarsa) yesterday.

I went to their house because for the past few weeks since Christmas break started (I think even before it started), Sarsa was texting me, sending greetings as if making "paramdam" that we should set a date (this is not bromance okay?) for us to meet again.

I went to their house yesterday to ask him to go with me and ask for Justice's cellphone number and address. I was planning to go to her uncle's house where she used to live and bring Sarsa with me. That way,  I'll get the extra guts to go there and ask what I needed to ask. I failed to say it to Sarsa since I'm quite shy to tell it so we ended up having a drink. His brother Lester (Popoy) was there and another familiar face, CJ (Botchok) who I become acquainted with also since he's always at the inuman sessions.

We enjoyed the inuman since we did not see each other for a long time but the real reason why I'm writing this blog is because I want to discuss how Sarsa or Baryo people in particular (Baryo is a place in Cainta and is where I live) have weird sounding names (that does not exclude me).

Here are the few weird names (people I know and Sarsa's friend combined) I know:

  • Bukol (the swelling or the bump in the head when it gets hit hard by an object, "nauntog")
  • Pala (as in the shovel)
  • Emong (not pronounced as the "E" in emo but the Tagalog E)
  • Moeng (it looks like the reverse name of Emong because only the letter E was transposed to the middle)
  • Dogie (yes, as in like the teach me how to doggie)
  • Bilog (this in English means circle)
  • Kulot (due to his curly hair when it gets long)
  • Dodong (it's like dodo with NG added)
  • Palaka (Yes, this is real. There is someone named Palaka here in barrio. Palaka means frog of course)
  • Itchok (this is like an onomatopoeic name or something)
  • Usoy (It's weird, right? Kinda sounds like usok and isoy combined)
  • Niknek (What the hell is Niknek? Like a niknek na sugat or something?)


Of course, I keep mentioning earlier, Sarsa (which means sauce) and yours truly also has a weird name: Rooster. That's right, the male chicken. I don't want to be called by my real name, btw.

So those are just a few examples of the weird names we have here in Baryo (or Barrio, I don't know the real spelling).

Sunday, December 25, 2011

I started journal writing

I started writing on my journal, finally! Yehey! I want to celebrate!

I got two journal entries already, too. Finally I can write as freely as I want. I don't feel I can write freely here. I don't even allow other people to know my blog site so that means I'm not confident here. But with a journal and with only me reading it, I can enjoy freedom in writing and in expressing myself. Hehe.

Pam bought the journal/notebook for me as a Christmas gift since I lost my coin purse in the jeep. I'm really happy because I got the desired style of the journal. It is not ruled. It doesn't have grids in it. It's perfect because I can write and draw at the same time there. I'm also sad because I lost the coin purse which Kim gave to me as a birthday present. My two USB flash drives are also inside that purse.

Anyway, there will always be a mix of things. A balance in life. Good and bad. Yin and Yang. On the good hand, I'm happy to obtain a journal finally. Alright, I know this is so irritating already since I keep on mentioning it.

Merry Christmas readers and bloggers like me! This is my Christmas entry. Hahaha. I'm on thesis mode later. Enjoy the season!

Thursday, December 22, 2011

I dreamed of Justice

I dreamed of Justice this morning.

I was transported to high school where I was leading a class. I stand as the class president and I was speaking over a microphone. There were familiar faces like Joy Camille Reyes and Aileen Borela who were my elementary and first year high school classmates respectively.

When I decided to sit down to copy notes from the blackboard I saw Justice seated at the front seat. I asked Gela where she hangs out after class and she just pointed a place. I assumed it was at Manong's & Manang's halflong-an. I was not yet finished with what I was copying. The teacher won't allow that I delay the submission of it for tomorrow. When I finished copying, she's gone.

I woke up from my dream at around 11AM feeling my tummy aching again.

I wish I could see Justice again. I desperately wanted to see her. We need to talk. Our conversation will declare if I'm going to move on from her or not.

Wednesday, December 21, 2011

I quit smoking

Hi!

I haven't smoked for three days. I'm trying to quit. I hope this will work. I'm substituting Fox's candy for cigarettes. This is what Toru Okada of The Wind-up Bird Chronicle did when he quitted smoking except that he has "lemon drops". I don't even know what lemon drops look like or how it taste like or where I can buy those type of candies. I had to find my version of lemon drops, thus, Fox's candy came the closest.

Jeje is also quitting smoking because according to him he needs lung power to reach high notes when he is performing. He is somewhat my inspiration. I just need motivations and new addictions to divert the craving feeling of wanting to smoke to succeed in quitting.

I don't mean to be the K.J. type when I chose to quit smoking. I miss the guilt pleasure sometimes though.

Monday, December 12, 2011

Dilemma on Girls

I want a Samaskomer girlfriend.

That's the reason why I joined the org. Or maybe not.

Originally, it was Jeje Santos, an alumnus of my school in elementary and highschool and now the vocalist of the band Giniling Festival (sometimes tagged as the System of a Down of the Philippines). Hooray for that.

I'm lazy. I wanted to discuss things about what we've discussed during the G.F. (Giniling Festival) album launch part 3. We were talking about fiction novels, "God is Dead" things, films, among other stuff. I'll discuss these when I get the enthusiasm, or the energy, or whatever is the antonym of laziness.

I like Georgie Girl very much. Haha. Georgie Girl by the way is my orgmate. Her real name is Ja (Janine Marie). She's so cute and so pretty. Not to mention, she's also sexy (I still mentioned it, haha). I wanted to court her but there are certain balakids (not the fliptop rapper) that prevents me to do so. And these are:

1. She is Papilord's original crush (Papilord is my orgmate also, and my godson in Samaskom. His real name is Marc).
2. It was April who was my first bet and to whom I showed signs that she is my bet.
3. I am not certain of what to do.
4. I might just be diverting my feelings for Claire and is just looking for someone else to love.

The last reason's the one I hated most.

I don't mind if I get "basted" by Georgie Girl. I don't want to make a move yet because I might hurt April's feelings. It's so complicated right now. Plus, sometimes I still think about Justice. I admire her courage and bravery for accepting her past. She too has a dark secret I know. Mine, I can't just tell it to all my friends.

I hope some divine enlightenment comes down to me and then I'll know who really to pursue. Hahaha.

I need somebody to love. I don't understand why they always say "mahalin mo muna ang sarili (nang mabuti), bago ka magmahal ng iba". I think I've loved myself well enough. I'm one selfish kid and I need someone else I'll share my love to. I hope it's Georgie Girl. Hahahahahaha.

P.S. I'm looking over Georgie Girl's pictures on facebook while writing this. So panext!

Wednesday, December 7, 2011

Secret revealed and Pain

I don't know how to face the new day. I'm still tied from the past. Past memories I want to repress or better yet, permanently delete.

Today, I told my batchmates in Samaskom the darkest secret I have. This dark secret is the reason why I hate my childhood, hate the place where I live in, and hate my life.

I just want to be reincarnated or something. I didn't like how my fate went. I know however dark my past is, it won't define me as a person but it still affects me.

I cried hard again today. I  just want to let it out. I don't know if people around me really care, but I don't care. I don't mind. This does not happen to me that often and when it does happen, my mind becomes shrouded with negativities.

I can't think clearly. I can't even start with the things I have to do.

I don't know what to think. It matters to me how people will think about me after knowing my dark past.

Monday, December 5, 2011

The Dark Me (Literally and Figuratively)

There are times when I really want to detach myself from the society. I really want to withdraw right now. I wish my life also has a refresh button. I want to delete some parts of my memory. This is not a suicide note. I think thinking such thought is corny. Life is beautiful, only people make it ugly by ruining your day. That's one example at least.

My tummy ached again last night. I got upset whenever my tummy aches. I have this sickness since I was in first year high school I think. Nothing really, I just feel like sharing it.

Right now, I'm confused. I haven't started anything related to acads yet. I got a lot to do. I was not able to attend our meeting for our BA 170 class. I have to go to lib today to find related literature for my thesis topic. I'm planning to change it. I need to go to school today but my sister forgot to give me my allowance. I said I got a lot of work to do.

I always think about Claire and April. I get hurt when I see Claire with someone else but we quarrel most of the times we are together. April on the other hand makes me happy but I don't always see her. She only goes to school if she wants to. She's just completing her thesis. She, on the other hand... I can't understand her. I don't think she likes me (as a boyfriend). While Claire, I don't know if I loved her. I'm just jealous with the others who admit they have a crush on her. I don't know if I'm jealous with that idea or jealous of Claire her self.

This is really weird. I need to text my groupmates and tell them I can't make it.

Dark, don't come soon enough for me please (from the Tegan & Sara song).

Thursday, December 1, 2011

Zombie Apocalypse!

Let me tell you what I dreamed about last night.

I can't recall the entire dream and the correct sequence. Of course, it is impossible to remember the entirety, meaning, every small detail of your dream because according to psychology it is just not possible.

This is how the dream went. I was kissing a girl whom I met in a sort of carenderia-restaurant type of setting. The girl's face looks familiar but I'm not really sure if I met her before. According to my professor in Psych 101, the people you meet in your dreams whom you don't recognize are people you encounter in your everyday life but you don't notice or give attention to. Did you get my point? Anyway, so there, I was kissing her for a long time until we hold off. The next scene was a zombie apocalypse. We (I and my closest friends) are running away from zombies that are chasing us. We even climbed this wire wall and found ourselves in a narrow alleyway and saw the zombies were already there and we climbed back. The next scene, we were shooting the zombies with the bird-shot or shotgun type of gun and when we were out of bullets already, we used the butt of the gun to hit the zombies and to keep them away from us.

I didn't want the dream to end because I want to know if we are going to survive the zombie apocalypse or if we will be eaten by them or if we will become zombies like them. I realized in the scene where we were fighting the zombies that I must be dreaming but then, like I said I didn't want to wake up. But I was awaken by the heat because it was noontime already. I wanted more of the zombie apocalypse dream!

So there. I hope you liked my zombie apocalypse dream except the kissing scene part. Yuck.

Saturday, November 26, 2011

No New Blog for Today

No new blog for today. No profound discussions from me now. I don't feel like writing. I feel terrible. I'm not feeling well. I'd like to discuss a lot of things. Things about important people around me. I'd like to talk about Pam and Claire. Maybe tomorrow, if I'm feeling better by then.

Is it bitterness that I'm feeling? We'll see in my next blog. For the meantime, I'm going to rest a little. I hope I'll feel better.

Friday, November 18, 2011

¡Hola! La tarjeta postal yo hice para mi clase de Español Once

This is the post card I made for my Spanish 11 class. I can't find the write-up a.k.a. the letter I did in Spanish. This was supposed to be addressed to our professor Señora Anna Gloria Margarita Ventanilla-Degilla. I delivered this to her house in Area 2 in UP Diliman. I'm very proud of this work that's why it's here. I wonder what my grade here is. I only used Microsoft Powerpoint in doing this. I'm not very good at Photoshop so I just imitated one post card I saw in Media Center near the Film Department and made this.


I miss our Span 11 class. I took it last sem. I miss Señora and the class even though I'm not very close to every one. I miss my partner Mickee although I sometimes see her in our college. She's always my partner in dialogues and other partner activities. Spanish language and culture is very interesting to study. I want to take Span 12 and Span 13 (which are Intermediate Spanish classes). I want to learn more about Spain even though they've been our colonizer for a long time. I just love the language because according to my Media Law prof, Spanish is a romantic language. But of course it's just one reason. There are many other reasons. I want to go to Spain too!



The big space on the left of this card is where I wrote my note/letter to Señora. Gosh I can't remember a thing I wrote there. Here's one of my favorite Spanish expression: ¡Qué ganas tengo de verla!
It means I'm excited to see you!

Thursday, November 17, 2011

I made a poem for you

This is my attempt to write a poem. It doesn't have rhyme or meter and other elements that a poem should contain. It's pure freestyle. So here it goes.


Does the absence (of the person) really make the love more intense?

HER

I miss her
She won’t reply to my text messages
I flirt with many other girls
But at the end of the day it’s she I’m thinking of

I can’t chat her anymore
Is she still having a difficulty trying to sleep like normal?
How is her thesis?
I miss her

I hope she feels the same.

YOU

You really know how to make me happy
In different ways
You just know
And I’m happy about it

You are vulnerable but I haven’t seen you cry
You hide, you don’t want your pride get hurt
You are an extremely extraordinary girl
You know me, I don’t know you

I can’t read you.

I

I miss her it makes me sick
It makes me panic
It makes me upset
It makes me anxious

I miss her
I curl in my bed and think about her
I let my thoughts fly away
I think about us, what could have we been?

If she knows. I think she knows.

Sunday, October 16, 2011

Dancer in the Dark Film Review

As promised from my previous blog, I will write a film review of the film Dancer in the Dark by Lars von Trier. We were to write a formalist critical paper about it but since I don't know how to write that way (and the lectures about how to write that way is in the library and it's Sunday today), I will just write a preview before writing the formalist critical paper. I hope this will help. I need to finish all things as soon as possible.

Image from Dancer in the Dark Wikipedia:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:
Dancer_in_the_Dark_movie_poster.jpg
Dancer in the Dark stars Björk as Selma Ježková. At first I doubt if it was really her, but when I heard her sing, I was able to confirm that it was indeed her. And knowing that she's the lead actress of the said film got me more hooked into watching it. Björk is one of the musicians/singers I really like listening to. Her sound is different which makes me like her more. Anyway, she is a Czechoslovakian immigrant here with her son Gene Jezek portrayed by Vladica Kostic. Other casts include Catherine Deneuve as Kathy (or sometimes Cvalda [read as /ku-al-da/]) her best friend; David Morse as Bill the policeman; Cara Seymour as Linda (the wife of Bill); Peter Stormare as Jeff -- Selma's suitor; along other casts.

Selma is a single parent who works in a factory. She is suffering a degenerative disease in the eyes and she is saving up money because this disease of hers is hereditary and she wants to save her son Gene (which will be named Novy in the end) from suffering the same disease.

Selma during her rest days (or sometimes after work? I'm not sure.) rehearses for the musical "The Sound of Music" (this is actually the start of the scene where she is found tap dancing). Selma is a big fan of the hollywood musical and she idolizes Oldrich Novy (a famous tap dancer).

Selma likes to day dream a lot. One day, while at work, she listened intensely to the sounds of the factory. It became a music to her ear and they started dancing and singing. Selma works in the factory where they make the metal part of the sink, I think.

Bill helps Selma and Gene by allowing them to rent the trailer home (Wikipedia term) and by taking care of Gene while Selma is at work. One day Bill asked Selma if she can lend (or loan) him money because his wife Linda has been overspending and there's nothing left with his inheritance. Selma refused to and felt bad because he disclosed his secret and he got nothing. To be fair, Selma also disclosed her secret, that she is going blind and that she's been saving money to save her child, Gene from experiencing the same. Bill used this and took advantage of Selma.

One time, to be able to earn double the amount of her salary, Selma tried to work for the night shift. Her condition's getting worse and worse each day and she won't tell anyone about it. She practiced using the rail to get home and senses the rails using her feet so that she'll know if she's at home already. Sometimes she practices doing things while her eyes are shut so that she'll get used to the life of being blind.

Selma arrived one day at home, almost blind by then, and she was fired from her job because she broke the machine the other day, and then she received her last salary (the scene when she was fired from work made my tears fall). After that, when she was about to place the money in the tin can which she uses as her hiding place, she found that her savings were gone. This broke my heart as well even though I anticipated that scene coming already.

When she was about to report this to Bill, who as mentioned earlier is a police and who just lives in the house beside them, she found Linda there. She was furious for she was accusing them of having an affair. Selma was looking for Bill to report the incident of stealing that happened and Linda said that he had just arrived from the bank, counting all the savings he has. Selma knew from the previous conversation that Bill was running out of money and this made her suspect that it was he who stole the money.

Selma found Bill upstairs. The money was there. She talked with Bill and said she needs the money back. Bill won't give it back and assumed it was his money. Selma will still get the money from him. When she was about to leave, Bill pointed the gun to her saying he will shoot her. Selma said she doesn't see any gun as if mocking him. Bill came closer to her to make her feel the gun. They took the gun away from each other and Bill accidentally shot his self. Selma got hold of the gun while Bill got hold of the money. Selma was provoked to shoot Bill because he won't give back her money. He said that if she really wants the money back, she should kill him first. She shot him, missed some, but was able to hit some directly to his body. Although he has a lot of gunshots in the body and is very weak now, he still did not let go of the pouch which contains the money. Selma found the deposit box placed over the table and used it to beat the head of Bill brutally until he let go of the money. Selma was left there crying.

After that, Selma deposited the money to the hospital which will do the operation for Gene. Jeff helped her by giving her a ride. When they were in the woods already, Selma threw the evidences like the pouch where the money was placed and her cardigan splatted with blood.

When Selma came back Jeff asked if she will not attend rehearsals. Selma answered that she will attend. Selma, during her short stay in the rehearsals and with people looking suspiciously at them already (Jeff has no idea of what happened), felt the need to leave and find Gene for they haven't seen each other that day yet. Their director in the musical pushed that she stay and not leave just yet. The director called the police already the time they arrived at the rehearsal venue. It turned out the news of the killing spread that fast.

Selma was arrested while rehearsing (this part became vague for me because the movie hung. There seem to be a problem with the CD of the AV library). She was forced to rehearse although she has difficulty seeing by that time. She was arrested and the next scene was she was being tried in the court. She kept her promise not to spill what she and Bill talked about before because they said it's their secret (I forgot to mention at the start that Selma is manifesting some weird behavior. I think she has some mental disorder). Selma lied that she keeps/saves her money so that she can send it to her father somewhere. She did not want people to learn that she's been saving so that she can let her son undergo an eye operation. When they asked what her father's name is, she said it's Oldrich Novy. When Novy was called in the court, he denies any claims that he is Selma's father. While hearing the scratching of the pencils of some people who do the sketches in the court, Selma imagined they were doing a musical dance number again. After the musical number, the verdict was announced and she was found guilty with the penalty of death by hanging.

Selma was left with few days before here execution. Kathy would regularly visit her. Jeff would found out about Selma's plan for Gene to undergo the operation. They would use this so that Selma's case can be turned upside down. But Kathy would use the money which Selma deposited to the hospital where Gene's operation will be conducted. She will become hysterical and she would furiously demand that the money be used for Gene's operation and that he be called Novy afterwards.

Selma was shut in her cell where she is alone and she can't hear anything. This made her sad because sound helps her day dream and it frustrated her so hard that she can't hear anything. This scene was too painful too. The female prison guard who guards her happened to become her friend also because the prison guard knows that Selma is not a bad person. It touched my heart when they discussed them both having child/children. Selma told the prison guard to say to her child that she said hi. This touched the heart of the prison guard.

Another heartbreaking scene was when Jeff (the ever consistent but shy suitor) visited her. It broke my heart when Selma told Jeff to come to the day of her execution if he thinks it will be a lovely scene to see. Jeff cried really hard and I also found myself crying.

Selma did not want her to be seen by Gene. By this time, Gene was not shown anymore in any latter scenes in the film.

Selma's day of execution arrived. She was brought to another cell where she waited for the time to come. Food was served to her but she did not dare touch it. She was just there lying in bed as if counting with her hands moving in some unintelligible manner. When she was finally called to come, she cannot stand up. Her knees weakened because of the extreme fear she's feeling. Her prison guard friend helped her stand up by making loud footsteps (Selma experienced deafening silence for the past few days of her stay in prison). She sang again another song after hearing the prison guard's loud footsteps. She sang the final 107 step song to the fellow inmates (who according to Wikipedia are people to be executed also a.k.a. people at deathrow).


When the time came that she was about to be hung, she became hysterical again. She was about to be placed to a board where her movements will be controlled and she can be executed successfully but her female prison guard friend helped her not be place on that board. They covered  Selma with a black, thick cloth and she screamed, shouting for Gene's name. Although illegal, Kathy (Cvalda) went up to tell her that Gene was okay, that his operation was successful and there was nothing to worry about. The executioner phoned those in authority for the legality of what they will do (removing Selma's black cloth over her face). While waiting for the return call, Selma sang again yet another song. When the phone rang and the decision was approved, they pulled the lever and Selma was hung and sent to her death. Her song was cut and a phrase appeared in the screen saying  "They say it's the last song/They don't know us, you see/It's only the last song/If we let it be." (Dancer in the Dark, n.d.).

I found myself crying really hard because of this film. I did not expect it to be so heartbreaking, sorrowful and tragic. Although it made me feel that way, I really really liked the film, I strongly recommend that people (especially film enthusiasts) watch it.

Reference:

Dancer in the Dark (n.d.). Retrieved October 17, 2011 from the Dancer in the Dark Wikipedia: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dancer_in_the_Dark

Saturday, October 15, 2011

Prologue

Last Thursday night before I left for our Comm Res 165's overnight, I cried because I thought my ate did not give me enough money. I'm already struggling with how to budget my money and how I will pay everything. I borrowed money from the org and my ate hasn't paid the 100 pesos she borrowed from me yet. I don't know why she keeps on being insensitive. As if she did not experience this. As if she did not undergo UP hell week.

Anyway, the next day I went to school for the false knowledge that it was our exam on the 14th (Friday). I found out it was still scheduled next Tuesday on the 18th. I saw the post of our prof on the bulletin board of the ground floor of the CBA building. After knowing this, I slept a little in the CBA library. This was around 1PM. When I woke at past 2PM, I went to CMC to watch Dancer in the Dark. Our final film in Film 100 where we will base our final paper. I cried many times during the film. I promised to write a film review about it so let this serve as the prologue of the film review. Here it goes.

Wednesday, October 12, 2011

Tinola

I just finished lunch. I ate tinola with a little coke on the side. I'm going to buy more coke after writing this. Perhaps in Poleng/Helen because they have 12 ounce coke and they sell it really cold!

Anyhow, I don't really like tinola. It's one of the viand I less like eating. When I eat tinola I just think of Jose Rizal. It's his favorite food (viand). And by thinking that way, I am able to eat and enjoy tinola. I wonder what the original tinola during Rizal's time taste like? Is it really that good that he included it in his novels?

Maybe we'll just really have to find ways to like the things we hate (or like less) so that we can enjoy it and accept it.

I'm going to finish the Epañol Once script now. Tomorrow's the presentation. But I'm going to buy coke first.

Tuesday, October 11, 2011

I always write negativities in life.

I always right negativities in life.

Happy Birthday Justice!

Today is Justice's 22nd birthday and for that, I will write a short blog about her.

Justice is the girl who captured the hearts of many of my boy classmates (most belonging to my circle of friends like Arnel, Lud, et cetera) in high school. Unfortunately, I'm one of the victimized one. But I don't regret being victimized (or hypnotized) by her poison ivy charm.

I'll describe to you how she looks like. She's not pretty. She's cute. Her braces makes her more cute. It makes her look like she's rich. She doesn't even have a white complexion (one of the strongest criterion I look for girls), but her skin is fine. She's not chubby either (which is also one of my criterion), in fact she's thin. Not sexy.

I don't know why the boys in our class liked her. I'm sure kids from other sections got a crush on her too when we were in high school. There's a certain charm in her which like a perfume or a sexual pheromone that she naturally exudes.

I don't know if it's love potion (gayuma) or what but up until now, I still like her. Well, according to a good friend, love will not evaporate in thin air like bubbles. It's just there unless you find someone else to refocus or divert that love feeling.

So there, that's a short description a.k.a. story about her. Here's my message for her:

Hi Justice! Kumusta ka? Sana magkita tayo ulit. Di ko alam kung liligawan kita ulit pag nagkita tayo. Pagdasal mo na lang na wag tayo magkita kasi hahabulin kita. Haha. Minsan iniimagine ko makakasalubong kita sa Parola habang naglalakad galing sa Mercury Drug. Hanggang pangarap na lang yun syempre. Ingat ka dyan kung nasaan ka man. Sana break na kayo ng boyfriend mong pasista.

Monday, October 10, 2011

12:43AM

I was reading stuff about Haruki Murakami and his inspirations in writing when I saw a note about hibakushas. They are survivors of the Hiroshima and Nagasaki bombings who suffered severely because of the extreme wounds they got after and the adverse effects of radiation to their health. The thought just saddened me and the pictures of the victims in the Wikipedia article I was reading depressed me more. There’s this one person who survived both bombings. According to the account of the story, he was on a tour when he went to Hiroshima when the bombs were dropped. He survived. On August 8, he went back to his hometown in Nagasaki and that was the day before the second (set of) bombs were dropped. He survived it again. However, he died at the age of 93 because of stomach cancer (note: according to the Wikipedia article. I got lazy using proper citation).

Haruki Murakami is my favorite author. He uses magical realism (just like Gabriel Garcia-Marquez) and surrealistic type of writing in his works (I’m basing this on how Wikipedia discussed his techniques and writings). He also talks themes of personal loss, emptiness, untold stories of war (such as what happened in Manchuria or Manchukuo), detachment from society, student movement, sex, et cetera et cetera (My personal perception based on reading some of his novels and with the support of the Wikipedia article about him).

This is kind of ironic for me because I’d like to believe that I’m the happy type of person who opposes all of these. Well, sometimes I’d really like to be detached from the society but most of the time I’d like to be happy. When I read and finish his novels I can’t help but feel sad in the end and ponder about the characters in the story and about my life.

Sorry if I suddenly feel like writing a blog about him. It just caught my attention that he started writing when he was 29 years old. His first novel was Hear the Wind Sing which unfortunately, I will not be able to read because it was not mass-produced outside Japan like his other works. After being published in English by some Japanese-publishing company early in the 1980s, they suddenly decided not to publish it anymore. Too bad for a fan like me who wonder what Murakami’s style of writing before was. Well, I was able to read A Wild Sheep Chase which is part of “The Rat Trilogy”. A Wild Sheep Chase followed Pinball, 1973 and then Pinball,1973 followed Hear the Wind Sing (which is the first book as I mentioned). I don’t know if by the age of 29 I can write my first novel also. I’m 22 right now and I’m nearing that age.

Well, what I really want to talk about is the effect of Murakami’s novels to me. Sometimes, it makes me feel like I am the characters in the story. Like Toru Watanabe for instance (although I did not experience casual sex or having a bestfriend die because he committed suicide) or Toru Okada (and I did not experience losing a wife, falling in a well or astral traveling either). Murakami’s novels make me feel sad after reading them and it’s consistently like that. This makes me think that Japanese people are really the sad type of persons. Inside them is a deep emptiness. I can’t prove this theory yet but as I’ve read in his books and as I’ve watched from some of the Japanese films and TV series, it appears like that.

I have a brother who is Japanese. He is my sister’s boyfriend actually that’s why we treat him as an elder brother. A “kuya”. He is different from the Japanese people depicted in the (Murakami) books I’ve read and Japanese films and TV series I’ve watched. Maybe you can’t really generalize after all based on what you’ve just read or watched. These are just secondary sources. It is still different when you experience what you want to observe first hand.

I don’t know what the path of this blog will go. A while ago I was just discussing about hibakushas and now I’m talking about how to arrive at generalizations.

Anyway, I just want to say that I’m a frustrated writer. I want to write and write. I keep on mentioning this even in my previous blogs. Just like Sumire of Sputnik Sweetheart, sometimes I want to drop out of school and start a career in writing. But of course I can’t do that because we’re not that well-off in life and that means I would have to work to support that career.

It’s fun when the letters, the words, the sentences, the paragraphs continuously appear on screen. Seriously, right now, I don’t care who reads this and what other people would say about my writing. I’m just letting this go on until I can hold and until my mind goes blank.

I’ve wrote it this long and I still haven’t saved this. My internet got disconnected and I’m writing again using MS Word 2010 which auto-corrects grammar.

I can’t write that well in Filipino. This is not to say that I’m so good in English. It’s just that, when I try to write in Filipino, it will either be written in pure Filipino but the content is horrible or it will be written in Taglish but the content is better. And I don’t want to write in either of those ways.

I’m afraid of the dark, actually. An hour ago, while reading stuff about Murakami there are thoughts in my head like someone will just slash my throat. This happens to me a lot of times. I feel it again right now. The feeling that somebody will just attack me and slash my throat. My neck feels uncomfortable again.

I don’t know if I’m going to post this. This is a juxtaposition of all that I wanted to write straight from my head. I don’t know if I’m going to edit this once I’m done writing and reading this all over.

I’m so lazy to do anything but write!

Sunday, October 9, 2011

After watching Submarine

I want to write but I can't think of anything smart to write about.

I just finished Submarine. I've been told by Lala to watch it a long time ago but I always lack time to do so. Anyway, it was cool. I liked it. I didn't understand some of the conversations though because the language was British English.

But I liked the totality of it. I also liked the songs used. Very saddening it makes you stop and think about life.

Yesterday, my orgmates asked we go out and I joined them. I was with Pam, April, Chelly, Venice and K. It was Ven who invited us to have a few drinks. Although I don't have money I still joined. For the sake of drinking an alcoholic drink and to save Friday night I went with them. In the end it was Pam who bought me beer. I should pay her next week.

Before that, we were in CMC in our org tambayan under the skywalk. We were having a little conversation when April started it again. She's ranting about not having a new boyfriend and asking why no one gets attracted to her. Chelly butted in and said, "ayan o, si Tero" and April responded that what we have was platonic love and not consummate love. I was not hurt by this because I didn't know what platonic love means. I found what it means later. Hahaha. Stupid me. Well anyway, it's a good thing that Chelly butted it in. At least now, I know how she feels about me. I'm not discouraged right now. I think I still need to confess to her what I really feel and see what her response will be.

Right now, I'm thinking of random thoughts to write about. I need to read the first draft of our paper in Comm Res 165. They (my blockmates) are in Jollibee Katipunan right now editing and improving the paper. I decided not to join them and come tomorrow (actually later) because I'll just be stuck there doing nothing, looking plainly in space, just like the same. A social loaf. I won't be productive if I went there and I can't bring my laptop with me because I can't fold it. As if I'm being productive right now. I'm just updating my blog and expressing myself and exercising my writing skills again as if it improved already.

Yeah, basically that's it.

Ray and I were able to talk again with each other through text. She said she's uploaded new blog entries. When I checked it, they were still the same! I've read those a long time ago. Yeah, okay this may sound I'm bragging and that I'm able to update. But, yeah, I know that's what you're thinking. Crap.

I'm so lazy to do anything but do this! I don't want to read our paper or write the script. I promised yesterday that I'll start with the Span 11 script but I'm just so lazy I want to sleep!

Friday, October 7, 2011

bible studying

I'm really sleepy now. I decided last night to write a blog but when I got access with the internet, I decided to do it later. I was in the middle of my bible studying at around 4AM when my father woke up. I was interrupted.

Damn, I was on the climax of the bible study.

Right now I'm thinking of ways on how I can hide the laptop and save the tabs I opened so that I can go on with my bible studying.

Wednesday, October 5, 2011

Patungkol sa Wika

Dumating ako sa bahay kagabi ng mga alas siete o alas otso. Naabutan ko pa ang balita. Pinapalabas si Lito Lapid, pero hindi dahil sa bago niyang proyekto a.k.a. pelikula kundi tungkol sa panig niya tungkol sa pagpasa ng Reproductive Health (RH) Bill.

Kontrobersyal si Lito Lapid bilang tulad nila Bong Revilla, Jinggoy Estrada at kung sinu-sino pang action star-turned politician o artista-turned politician, isa din siya. Pero mas kontrobersyal at mas kinikritiko siya dahil senador siya pero hindi siya marunong mag-ingles. Ito kasi ang premyo na natatamasa natin dahil sa demokrasya. Kahit sino pwedeng tumakbo sa posisyon kahit hindi edukado o hindi kasing husay ng iba niyang kakumpetensya basta nasa akmang edad.

Pero ano naman kung hindi siya marunong mag-ingles? Di ba dapat mag-tagalog lahat ng nasa kongreso (mababang kapulungan  a.k.a. kongreso ulit at mataas na kapulungan a.k.a. senado)? Bakit hindi tayo managalog lahat? Bakit hindi natin isulat ang konstitusyon ng Pilipinas sa Filipino? Ano 'to, tinatamad lang ba tayo? Masyado tayong umaasa sa wikang English. Kaya di tayo umuunlad e. Alam ko karamihan ng aking mga isinusulat dito ay sa wikang nabanggit pero mas kumportable kasi ako ipahayag ang damdamin ko sa wikang iyon e. Hindi naman ibig sabihin noon na "trying hard" ako sa pagmamahal sa sarili nating wika o mas pinapaboran ko ang wikang kolonyal (oo, kolonyal yun!).

Pero sana katulad tayo ng ibang bansa sa Asya tulad ng Korea at Japan na nahasa munang mabuti ang paggamit ng sarili nilang wika para maging maunlad din tayo tulad nila. Natutunan ko ito sa Lingg 1 e.

Kung mas natutunan natin lahat ng bagay sa sarili nating wika, hindi yung halo (Taglish, Enggalog, etc.), siguro mas matatalino tayo.

Ayon sa isang kahulugan na natutunan ko mula sa dati kong propesor sa Adamson, ang wika ay "isang "social vehicle" na ginagamit sa komunikasyon.

Siguro problema pa rin ang namumuong tunggalian sa pagitan ng wikang Cebuano at Tagalog kaya problemado tayo. Di naman iba sa atin na kahawig lang ng Tagalog and Filipino bukod sa katangian nito tulad ng panghihiram at pagkupkop ng mga wikang banyaga (mas maraming English)

On Murphy's Law

Our BA 101 report was a failure. We came unprepared. As always, I just wanted to get over it. I didn't even strive hard for it to be an awesome report. Mediocrity. But I'm not always like this. Maybe Dakki (our group leader) and Jan Erl (or Angelo as he wanted to be called) overthought our problem. We did not consider that we're on the leadership chapter already. We did not frame our problem in a leadership point of view. Plus, our communication model was also a failure. I'm the one who designed it. A miscommunication among us happened. I did not know that we're NOT sticking to the restructuring of the organizational structure of our case. I was humiliated because I should be the one who should be the expert on this. But I was not able to answer the questions of our classmates since I designed the communication model in a different mind set (i.e. the organizational structure restructured). Also, the communication model lacks legend according to our prof and that's why she's misguided.

I assumed. We don't put legend in our communication models/framework when we write it in our papers in mass comm. It came to me that I should be the one adjusting and not pushing that mass comm (or communication in general) should dominate business administration. I forgot that I'm the alien student and should be the one adjusting to the discipline of business administration.

But I like how Dakki messaged me in facebook. He was apologizing for the attitude he showed after our report. He said he was sorry and that he shouldn't have behaved that way. I see myself in him. I'm the one who apologized at him right after our report. Maybe we have the same personality.

Moving on... Vaughn our FA groupmate was able to pull off our STS report. Me and Lea will have to lead the writing of the research paper. I'm satisfied with how Vaughn picked and delivered the report since most of the groups dealt with social and political issues in the university which is a bit hardcore for me for such a very light class like STS.

Anyway, there you go. I have another report later at 9:00AM and I don't know if we can pull it off. I should've not accepted the transcription. I was not able to finish it due to the two reports I had yesterday. I was not able to prioritize it. Plus the audio quality sucks so hard. I lost my ipod which I originally use as my recorder. It records voices better. Okay, but what sucks harder is the pronunciation of our interviewee. Why is she eating the words she's saying? Fuck it. Fuck her pronunciation of words.

Sunday, October 2, 2011

for a very special friend

Okay, I'm dealing with trivial problems like which girl to pursue, to court, or to make mine while others deal with serious problems with their family. I'm hardened and saddened at the same time.

I know that you know who I'm talking about.

Wherever you are my dear friend keep safe. If you want a yosi buddy or a beer-mate, give me a call or send me a text.

And I still can't get over...

And I still can't get over. Georgie Girl (according to Nathan's disclosure of her secret) said she likes my body. I like her body too. She's sexy. I'd like to think and to believe that she is. Not the sexy that will excite sexual libidos and shit in me (partly yes, maybe), but sexy literally with the nice figure and curve, and sexy because of the oozing confidence she has. And she's pretty. For me she is. Okay enough of that.

The reason why I have a sort of "post blog" of the earlier blog is because Georgie Girl likes me (because of my thin body) or likes my thin body. I don't know. Does that mean I'm a hipon? Oh crap.

Kilig Fever with Georgie Girl

The reason why I posted my two other blog entries (the Beatlemania article and my blog entries for Theater 12) is because I don't want to write again for this week. Next week will be my hell week. On Tuesday, I have two reports. One in STS at 1:00-2:30 (although I'm not sure if I'll be one of those who will report. I can just write the paper) and one in BA 101 at 2:30-4:00. On Wednesday morning however, is the final presentation/report and submission of our paper at the same time of our topic in Comm Res 197. I'm going to be a dead meat soon. As for my other subjects, I don't know. With Comm Res 165, I'm done with my part in data gathering. I just need to help with marketing, exhibit design and data analysis. I should also start writing the script with Direk Rachel. In my Film 100, I just need to finish ALL the readings (Why on earth can't I finish these fucking readings?). In Span 11, we'll just have more lectures next week then final exam and presentation (a dialogue in Spanish with props prepared and script memorized). For Samaskom, I just need to complete the missing collaterals. And that's it! Yep, it looks few but men, it's a lot of hardwork to accomplish all.

Anyway, let's go back to the real reason why I'm blogging tonight.

I can't help thinking of what I heard from Nathan last week.

We went to Area 2 in UP to eat lunch last Thursday. I was with Papilord Marc, Janyn Bereims, Dhadi, Claire, Nathan and Georgie Girl (Ja). They ate some takuyaki, burger, and bought softdrinks while I ate quickly at LB (Lutong Bahay). I don't have much money so I need to eat at affordable eateries. Haha. Anyway, after I finished eating, I went back to where they were eating their takuyaki and burger. I bought some cigarettes from Ate Nancy's store and smoked. I waited for them to finish.

Then, a few moments after, an afam a.k.a. 110-volts a.k.a. foreigner passed by and I said: "uy, 110-volts!".
My orgmates looked at the guy and then Georgie Girl said that she adores (I don't know if this is the correct word to use) guys with that type of body. Thin, not muscular and like that of a model. And then suddenly, Nathan started to speak and teased Georgie Girl Ja. He said something like: "eto o, si Tero, payat." and "di ba crush mo si Tero dati? Aminin mo, sinabi mo yun sakin dati". I blushed.

I didn't know what to say and I pointed to Papilord and said: "hindi ito si Papilord yung ano", I stuttered. Until when we got in the car, Nathan was teasing us. He was asking Georgie Girl to sit beside me. I'm "kinikilig" already that time but I cannot be obvious.

Until that day finished, I felt my head became big. I was too proud and confident. I told this story to Pam. I was too overwhelmed, too flattered I can't get over the thought. To tell you honestly, I find Georgie Girl really attractive. She's not very pretty but you know she's "crushable". If there's such term. She has a strong X factor or "malakas ang dating" as I would like to call it and that for me is what matters. Add up to that, she's kind, nice, pleasant. Mabait. She may be coño at times but she's not the type of coño you'll get irritated with. And to know that she also has a crush on me is really a compliment. Although I'm not sure if it was true. She did not deny nor gave a violent reaction about it. She just laughed and fell shy and did not look at me.

Anyway, I can't assume, I know, but still I can't get over the thought of it. I'm imagining silly thoughts right now (actually for the past few days) like, how about courting her? But thinking of the consequences as well. Of course I can't do that. I can feel Papilord still has a strong crush on Georgie Girl. His original reason why he wanted to join Samaskom is because of Georgie Girl. I can't court her just like that. He will get hurt for sure. And April will call me "sulutero" again. And I'm still pursuing April right now (secretly though).

I consulted this with Chelly and Boss Raisa the other day and I just got negative feedbacks. Negative because it's not the type of advices I would like to hear or know. They might be right. But they might be wrong as well.

I got irritated with Chelly by the way because she confirmed this story with Papilord as if not believing in my account. I don't know what her motives were for confirming it from Papilord but I was hiding it from him. Chelly can't ask him that!

They said I should not pursue the idea because it will just complicate things. They said that it's hard to have a relationship with someone you're in the same org with. I pondered about this just now and thought: isn't Chelly being hypocritical here?

Chelly added that people (particularly orgmates) will just criticize us and will just pry in our business. I thought if you will keep it to yourself and do not pay attention to what others would say or think, it can go on smoothly.

Also, according to them, the girls I wanted to pursue are impossible to achieve. First, it was Claire, who according to them likes the attention you will give her but won't reciprocate it. Next, it was Alex who is "pihikan" and who you'll have a hard time to court. But I don't even have a serious crush on her! It's just a happy crush, not the type I'd like to pursue. Next, it was April. Their opinion was divided. For Boss Raisa, it was okay because we are of the same wave length and we have a lot of similarities, and for Chelly I think it was still a "no" because of the factor that we are orgmates. I can't recall now. One of the reasons why I joined Samaskom is because there are a lot of cute, pretty, and hot girls here and I can "beso" them whenever I see them. When I mentioned "what if I court Georgie Girl?", they just said that she's a hard target and that it will be difficult and complicated. Well, I like challenges. I like difficult, complicated and chaotic situations (I don't know if I'm serious about this. I'm being "salawahan". Just ask me what it means when we see each other).

Anyway, the bottomline here is: you can ask for advice from your friends but not listen to them all the time or to not seek advice from them at all because you won't just like what you will hear.

There, resolved. At least I was able to express this.

Tuesday, September 27, 2011

A journal entry supposedly for Comm Res 110

Jounal No. 6
10-03-10

The Beatlemania


Recently I have been enjoying listening to Beatles’ songs. The song “If I fell” keeps singing in my head and it’s sad because I don’t have a copy of that song in my music player. I played “Can’t buy me love”, “Let it be”, “All you need is love” and some other songs available in my sister’s ipod instead.

Last week, I watched “A Hard Day’s Night”, a film which features them and they acted as themselves in the said film. I watched it to write an analysis about it because it’s our requirement for the final exam in our Comm 140 class. I realized how phenomenal and influential The Beatles are, knowing that they lasted as a band for just 10 years or so. My favorite author Haruki Murakami even uses Beatles’ song in his books and he also entitled a song in one of his book which is the novel “Norwegian Wood”, one of the best Murakami books I’ve read.

But let’s go back to the phenomenon The Beatles brought. John Lennon and Paul McCartney are powerful song writers. Their compositions are love potion which mesmerized listeners across the world. Let’s not forget George Harrison’s power guitar tab patterns and Ringo Starr’s head banging beats. The band toured in many parts of Europe during the height of their popularity and in the US. According to the Wikipedia article I read, they even tried to have a concert in the Philippines during the Martial Law. But according to the article, it was postponed because they were threatened of President Marcos when they were invited by his wife, then the first lady Imelda Marcos to have an exclusive dinner with her and they refused to. Then they found out that Marcos was not used to accepting “no” for an answer. They were also alarmed by the riot going on during the Martial Law era.

But according to my father’s account of the story, they were able to have a concert here in the Philippines. They performed in the Araneta Coliseum but my father was not certain whether people really stormed it. According to my father, when he was in second grade teenagers then were really addicted to The Beatles they set up disco dance floors in the garage of their houses and dance to the beat of their songs.

It is still a mystery to me how they influenced the world by their music. Does the media play a role again here or their songs are just too wonderful one can’t resist loving it?

My Kacheapan Days

Note: Before proceeding, ihanda ang sarili sa mga kacheapang masasaksihan. Ito dapat yung blog entries ko for Theater 12 last sem. Ngayon ko lang siya nalipat. Ni-require kami magsulat or magdoodle ng kahit na ano tapos ipapass sa prof namin, si Sir Dex. Eto yun. Enchoy!

Gusto kong magsulat ng 3 blog today. Ewan ko kung bakit. Sinisipag lang ako magsulat. Ang dami kong naiisip. So heto na…

November 24, 2010, 10:40pm
Sense-memory
            Nitong last na meeting namin sa Theater 12 pinag-aralan namin ang sense- memory sa acting. Exaggerated pala ang pinapakitang pag-arte sa TV! Tangina. Hindi pala yun ang standard acting. Ang acting sa theater should reflect reality. And this can be done by observing. Pero nadiscuss namin na hindi dapat makatotohanan ang pag-arte, it should be convincing. Ang konyo ng blog na ‘to di ba? Inexample ito ni Sir nung binato nya yung container ng tic tac sa classmate kong si Fatima. Sinalo ito ni Fatima. Yung sunod na pagbato sinabihan ni Sir si Fatima na saluhin yung tic tac. Dun sa sunod na bato hindi talaga binato ni Sir yung tic tac pero naniwala si Fatima na ibabato nga ni Sir yun dahil sa naunang experience ni Fatima kaya napasalo siya. Nung last na “kunwaring” pagbato ni Sir hindi na masyado naniwala si Fatima kaya hindi na siya na napasalo masyado (pero ang effective pa rin ng acting ni Sir). Ang ibig sabihin lang nito, effective ang isang acting kung experience-based. Dapat lang damdamin o mag-internalize tungkol sa isang certain event sa buhay at saka siya i-arte. Kasi kagaya nga ng una kong nasabi, based sa real events of life dapat ang pag-arte. Well, ang saya saya talaga mag-Theater.

November 24, 2010, 10:40pm
Nakakapagod kapag Wednesday
            Nakakapagod kapag Wednesday! Isang subject (Theater 12) lang naman ang class ko pero sobrang nakaka-exhaust! Para akong ginahasa. Lantang gulay na lang akong aarrive sa tambayan tapos wala pang utral. Ano ba yun?
            Sobrang pagoda! Grabe, di ako nakasakay agad ng Katip na jeep. Nagpahinga muna ako sa tambayan kahit mag-isa lang ako dun. Baliw-baliwan school of acting ba… Shet baka magalit si Sir Dex ginagago ko ang Theater. It’s something to be taken seriously.
            E ayon. Yun lang naman. Gusto ko lang i-expess at i-articulate na sa three weeks mula nang magsimula ang klase napansin kong nakakapagod ang Wednesday class. Pero sobrang enjoy ang mga games sa class. Ang chill. Okay talaga itong class na ito. Pang-get away sa kaseryosohan ng ibang subjects lalo na ang majors (Yung quali pamatay!)


December 14, 2010, 10:25pm
Specification
            Work for specifics.”

            Ito ang laging sambit ni Sir Dex sa aming mga improvisation workshops at theater games. Pero kung iisipin mo, ang amazing at nakakatuwa din when you really work on specifics. It’s just an amusing thought. Wala lang. Di ba, parang, “Huh? Naisip mo yun? Ang kulet!”
            Isang beses ginawa namin itong exercise kung saan nag-tableau kami. Yung pinipiling winning group ni Sir or yung nagtamo ng puntos ay yung group na nakakatuwa, nakakaaliw yung details.
            Pero if you dig deeper, it talks about characterizing a specific idea, scene, event, or object in order to visualize it lalo na kung hindi naman visibly present yung idea, scene, event, or object na yun. Dapat talaga observant ka at ma-“detalye” nga. Minsan yung maliliit na detalye ng buhay ay yung mga precious things that we should keep. Di ba nga, ang proverb na “maliit man ay nakakapuwing”? Dahil every small details in life catches our attention. Yes, me ganon.

December 14, 2010, 10:00pm
Bagong baunan
            Hello hello! Gusto ko ng bagong baunan! Lunchbox at lagayan ng tubig sa Lock&Lock. E kasi ang cute ng baunan don e. May ganon akong baunan dati ewan ko kung bakit nawala. Yung lunchbox ay P149.75 at yung water container/jug ay P259.75 (kung 500ml) at 279.75 (kung 700ml. Or 800ml ba yun? Hindi ko na maalala). Roughly makaka- P450.00 ako or less. Sana mabili ko na para makatipid naman ako di ba? Saka in preparation na rin sa Live A.I.D.S. Iba rin kasi pag Live A.I.D.S., medyo madaming gastos. Para katulad na lang nung last (actually, first) Live A.I.D.S. namin na nagbabaon talaga ako. Malaki ang natitipid. Aside from that, malakas din ako sa tubig at inumin (nakalalasing man o hindi. CHAROS!) kaya kailangan talaga ng baunan para imba!
            O sige na dear blog, inaantok na ko. Mag-aaral pa ko e. Di ka naman ma-upload upload sa internet, sa Microsoft Word ka na lang lagi nakapost. Haha.

December 14, 2010, 10:31pm
Brain Drain
            Wala akong maisulat (na) ngayon. Sayang, sinisipag pa naman ako magsulat pero wala akong masulat. Natuyo na. Maglilipat na lang ako ng notes. Nakakasipag magsulat ngayon. Sana kahit paganito ganito lang ako, maging magaling din ako sa pagsusulat gaya ng ibang Filipino writers. Tapos wala naman akong kilalang Filipinong manunulat di ba? Asa pa. Nakakabwiset yung pag-aauto-correct nitong Microsoft Word 2010. Sino ka ba para i-correct ako??

December 14, 2010, 10:34pm
            “Start strong, end strong”
            Nakita ko lang ang note na ito sa notebook ni Berna.
Ito siguro ang sikreto sa malupit na pagsusulat.

The Longest Blog Entry: A series of what I would like to write about

As promised from my last non-sense blog, I'll write on the topics I have in mind. And these are the following:

Reflection on the Korean film we've watched (unfortunately I forgot the title of the film. I'll ask tomorrow, I mean later if classes don't get suspended)

We've watched this Korean film about the North Korean-South Korean war. This is how the plot goes according to how I can recall it. It's about two South Korean soldiers and three North Korean soldiers who arrived at this strange village where everybody seems naive for they are far from civilization. There is a war going on between the North and the South and obviously, every North Korean in the eyes of South Koreans, and every South Korean in the eyes of North Koreans are enemies. The South Korean and North Korean soldiers in the film turned out to be friends and they almost forgot they were enemies because of the strange villagers. They ended up protecting the village and sacrificed their own lives just to prevent the innocent village from getting involved in the stupid war happening.

What's important in my discussion of this film is the open forum with our Korean classmate -- Miss Kim, after. It's amazing how she knows a lot of things. Things about Korean history and things about North Korea even when she's from South. South Korea is so fascinating as a country. I love how they value their local films. And South Koreans are really smart guys. They know what they are talking about even though they can't express it well (of course they mastered their language first before learning English). We asked how she's able to know the situation of North Korea and she said they talk about it in school. Before when they were younger, they treated North Koreans as enemies but as they grow older, they became sympathetic with them. Miss Kim said that the condition of North Koreans get worse and worse that some of its citizen migrates to South by traveling by sea to China and traveling again to South Korea (the Korean boundary is tightly guarded that you'll get killed when you try to pass on the other side). She also said they give help by means of giving money, food, rice, etc. but the North Korean government hoards it and it results to scarcity and famine. By the way, if the North Korean government finds out that their citizens illegally migrated to South, they will ask the South Korean government to deport them and when they come back to North, they will be killed. Yes, it's tragic, I know. The Chinese government tolerates this attitude of the North Korea on being hard and firm, being careless with the help, and being egoistic/egotistic at the same time. In the film, it was depicted that the North Korean soldiers don't know why they were sent to war and ordered to kill every South Korean soldier. All they know is that they're required to enter the military. This fact hurt me (tears formed on the side of my eyes while writing this actually).

I want to evaluate the quality of the film. It's actually a bitter-sweet story and I don't know if I'm to appreciate it or not since it mixes all emotions in me that I think I'm crazy already. If you know what I mean. When the film ended, some of my classmates cried. I controlled my emotions of course, it hurt my throat. Blame the stereotype that boys should not cry.


Our conversation with VJ a.k.a. Krunchee a.k.a. Mamay about Happiness versus Idealisms (in life)

Last Wednesday, I arrived at school after finishing our interview with Bench Philippines. I still have Spanish 11 class that time but I was too tired and hungry I decided not to attend the class.

VJ and Kaye invited us to go to Sarah's. I was hesitant at first but ended up going anyway. April decided to go also so it's a plus factor. VJ  brought his car and we jumped in it. Upon arriving, VJ ordered the orange-flavored Antonov. We tasted it and liked it, we ordered the same. April ordered San Mig light.

I was really tired that time I can't think of anything to eat. Plus the idea of not attending class because I'm tired, haven't eaten anything (and oh, I forgot, I also don't have an assignment) bothered me.

But the inuman session (or nomo as we call it) went well. It was fun. I liked our conversation about settling in life, fulfilling your dreams and ideals versus being happy with the ones you love. VJ asked us if we were to choose between a promising career abroad where you will earn good sums of money or staying, finding a just-enough or fine-paying job but you're with your family, what will we choose? In his case, it's hard for him to decide since his family are just starting to be okay (in terms of their relationship with one another), and he can live here even without earning really big because they did not experience being short of funds, or being poor (for the lack of a better term). His dilemma is that, an employer called him and wants him to work abroad. He'll get compensated really well. But he'll be far from his family and friends plus he has an ideal boyfriend this time. Ideal, not perfect. I mean, a workaholic boyfriend who has a stable job but not that conversational or happy to have conversation with.

There, I hope VJ won't read this blog of mine because I'm disclosing his dilemma in life. But if you think hard about it, what will you choose? Pursuing a promising career (which is actually a sign for him for he was called by the employer and he did not look for it) but being away from your family (which is just starting to form a better foundation in terms of their relationship) and from friends who you really love and you also treat as your family OR staying, finding a well to fine paying job (just okay job) but you are with the people you love? In his case, it's hard. But if I'm to choose, I'll choose the former of course since we're not that well-off in life. I need to seize every opportunity. I need to get rich to do what I want. I know I'm money-driven. But aren't we all economically-driven according to some economist? Was it Karl Marx who said it? I don't know.

VJ gave us this tip in life earlier before we went to Sarah's. You should not look for money. Money will find its way to you. He exemplified it when one time, he doesn't have any money but when he searched his bag, he found some 100 peso bills in it. If you think of being short of money or not having enough money, you'll just get frustrated thinking about it over and over.

It also happened to me one time. It was our photo shoot for our Comm Res 165 class. I found a hundred peso bill in the photo shoot venue. I decided to keep the money and ask later my blockmates through text who owns it since all were busy. When we left the area, I realized it's 10PM already and there were no more Ikot jeepneys around and I was at C.P. Garcia Street where no other jeepneys pass by. I don't know how I'll get home I only have exact amount of money that time. Good thing I found that hundred peso bill. I borrowed it and decided to take a cab until the end of C.P. Garcia Street and there I took the jeep.


Sir Choy's tips on love

Two weeks ago, it was Friday, I'm having a conversation with this professor named Sir Choy Pangilinan or "Sir Choy" of the broadcast communication department while smoking some cigarettes. We were talking about love and how to get the person you like. This may sound senseless but here are some of the few tips he gave.

1. If you're in a large a group, there will be two extremes for sure. The prettiest and the least pretty. Of course, obviously, the prettiest will be the hot target so you have to go to the less or least pretty and start the conversation with her. I actually forgot how you will strategize next, but that's how Sir Choy said it. You should not be obvious that you like the prettiest and make some subtle move to catch her attention.

2. You should not reply to text messages. First, you can text the person you like about how she's doing. And when the conversation's getting okay, you should abruptly cut it and suddenly stop replying to her. I don't know what the effect of this is. But I'm not the type of person who does this because I like expressing myself well. Maybe, this gives a sort of enigmatic/mysterious effect? I don't know.

3. Next you should throw lines or "hirit" that she will never forget. For example: while crossing a footbridge or an overpass of any same sorts, hug her suddenly. If she asks why you did that, say: "matapos man ang relasyon natin o maging 'hindi na tayo', di mawawala ang  footbridge na ito at ang alaala ng pagmamahal ko sa'yo." Or something to that effect! I don't know! I just laughed at this.

4. Go to her world at the same time invite her to go to your world. If she's a coño-rich girl and she likes partying, you should go with her at least once to a party she wants to go to. And if it's your turn and you're the jologs type, invite her to go with you. Tell her, "sinamahan kita sa mundo mo, ngayon naman ako ang samahan mo sa mundo ko." Keep it real and be the real you. True to the form!

5. The next and probably the last I can recall is that you should attract her without being obvious that you are attracting her (Inaakit mo siya na hindi mo siya inaakit). I think it's something like making her like you but not taking it so seriously. It's a sort of a reverse psychology. You make her feel that it's just nothing for you but there is something. I don't know. I can't explain it well. I'm not really good at this. Maybe once I've tried these tactics or strategies then I can prove its effectiveness.

Interview with Sir Jojo Liamzon of Bench Philippines


I like how our interview with Sir Jojo Liamzon went. Let me first narrate how we found the head office of Bench Philippines in Pasay.

So, as part of the data gathering, and me being part of the data gathering team, I volunteered to look for the different advertising agencies in the Philippines to interview them for the focus interview part. I abandoned the content analysis team (which is also part of the data gathering team) because it's too quantitative. I'd like to think I'm more of a qualitative person (or researcher). Or so I think?

Anyway, Tin and I traveled our way to Pasay. Earlier, I called again the head office of Bench since the last time I called, there was no answer. But when I called that Wednesday morning, Sir Jojo told me to go right away while he is still not that busy.

So I pressured Tin to come over and asked her we go to Bench's head office in Pasay. She got pissed at this pressuring I did. Haha. Anyway, she's the one who's very persistent with this interview.

We first went to Tin's boarding house in Maginhawa. She changed from short shorts to pants for this is an interview. We took the cab. When she's done, we took the MRT. We were dropped off to GMA Kamuning station by the taxi. Then from MRT Kamuning, we dropped off to the last station which is Taft. Tin told me it's her first time to ride the MRT. I divirginized her from riding the MRT (insert evil laugh here).

Then from Taft Station which is one of my favorite places, I told Tin to secure her stuff for Taft's a dangerous place. We walked the footbridges and overpasses until we reached the other side. The side going to SM Mall of Asia and Cavite. We looked for a taxi and immediately found one that's available (although we don't know if we were on the right commuter loading and unloading station).

The taxi driver we got happened to be an old, talkative driver who has a strong sense of hearing. He talks about driving the taxi for two decades now (I'm not sure of this) and how he knows the names of the streets in Pasay. When I said Tolentino Street, he already know. But when I said Suyen Corporation, we dwelled on it at first. I said, the head office of Bench, and then he got it.

The streets in Pasay are weird. The main mode of transportation is the tricycle since other vehicles are only allowed one way while tricycles can counterflow. On our way back to UP, we used the tricycle to get to MRT Taft and it was quick! We were also advised by the old taxi driver earlier to ride on a tricycle instead since it's cheaper. We should say to the tricycle driver that the fare is only P40.00 so we won't get fooled. We payed the taxi driver P100.00 although the meter only says P60.00. It's Tin who payed it.


Anyway, enough of the long story of our adventure. We conducted this interview with Sir Jojo Liamzon, the advetising manager for Bench and Leo Sy, his advertising assistant. Bench happens to have it's own advertising department. But I read somewhere that Bench also hires advertising agencies such as TBWA\ Santiago Mangada Puno and Publicis Jimenez Basic whose recent work is the Bench on Mars. The Bench advertising department was the one who did the Philippine Volcano billboard ad which is the root of our study.

He discussed in our interview how we Filipinos are "double standard". My reception on this is that we are hypocritical. We do not criticize and pull down ads of women in sexy bikinis but when ads of men in their briefs were suddenly displayed in EDSA, we reacted violently.

Sir Jojo further discussed how in Europe they don't see statues of angels naked with their breast or penis revealing or Venus rising from the sea (this is his exact example) as something offensive. Billboards such as the Philippine Volcanoes will be just nothing in Europe, according to him.

He also stated that they don't create billboard ads to sell sex. He cleared this up to us. He actually asked us to pause the recorder when we asked our first question which goes something like: "Do you intend to incorporate sexual message or content in conceptualizing billboard ads?"

So there, we got "windang" actually by the frankness and being straightforward of Sir Jojo. But after the interview, I felt fulfilled eventhough it just lasted around 30 minutes. I don't know if Tin felt the same. I'm finished with the transcription of that interview and I'm hoping that we can still interview TBWA\ Santiago Mangada Puno tomorrow. The weather's so bad.

What if we have mental computers or typewriters or (as what Sumire call it in Sputnik Sweetheart) word processors in our mind?


This is just a random thought I thought of while on my way to school one time. I was looking plainly and emptily in space, my mind was thinking of random thoughts and this one hit my thought balloon.

What if all the thoughts and observations we have are transmitted right away in our mental word processors/computers. I like this word processors or computers to have unlimited space that I won't get fed up thinking of many thoughts.

I hope the geniuses would create such invention! Hello inventors of Macbook, Apple, Windows (Bill Gates), whoever are the shit involved.

Recent: My thumb hurts from playing Call it off by Tegan and Sara.

Okay, so I found that the song Call it off by Tegan and Sara is easy to play in guitar. But since you need to pluck the strings to achieve the desired sound, my thumb swelled.

I also found a video tutorial in youtube on how you can play it similarly to how T&S play it in guitar. The plucking or strumming is different from what I previously learned.

Now I'm studying how to play it the better and more similar way.

Yesterday

It's still raining outside. A while ago, the wind is blowing hard. It's 2AM and I haven't done anything productive yet. These are the things I listed down that I'm supposed to do:

1. Finish readings in Film 100 (three weeks have passed and I'm still not done with it).
2. To find the cases for our BA 101 and talk to my groupmates since we are supposed to report next on Thursday.
3. Talk to my groupmates in STS re: updates about the data they collected for our final presentation and our final paper.
4. Make a postcard for Span 11 and transfer the write-up that I did.
5. Do ten sentences about our memorable experience/trip using preterito indefinido. I even forgot what preterito indefinido means. This was last week's assignment in Span. I was absent because of the series of interview we conducted among advertising agencies. We have one final interview on Wednesday. I hope I don't miss the class again.
6. I'm supposed to find in google map 1195 Chino Roces Ave. corner Yakal St. across Cafe Puro. This is where the next ad agency is located.
7. Finally, for Samaskom: What will I do with the certificates and photos during the tree planting?

I'm done with item numbers 3, 6 and 4 and a half.

I'm supposed to make a post card for our Spanish 11 and it's so frustrating that I have the concept in my mind but I can't execute it. I don't know how to use photoshop! I want to finish it now. If I'm to draw it, it would take a long time plus I don't have any drawing materials here.

I know, I know, I have a lot of complains. Too bad I can't be good at everything. I hope some bulb will just light above my head and then suddenly I know now what to do.

Anyway, let's go back to what I'm talking about.

(Writer's block. I forgot what I'm supposed to write and discuss here. I fell asleep again. It was dawn when I was writing this and a drowsy feeling just hit me, I hit the bed. No I don't have a bed, so I hit the higaan.)

Earlier


I woke up really late. I did not notice it's afternoon already. When I went down, there are no more rice to eat but there's a viand. I got pissed. I did not speak. I just used the bathroom and peed and went up again.

I went back to sleep. I read my text messages. There were nine. One was Venice's text regarding the unsettled collaterals during the tree planting last July. I got pissed again. It was not me who lose the first batch of printed certificates and photos but Ariadne, Lou, Tara and Jam, their film group, when they asked me to become their talent. They did not to take care of me. They did not feed me, they dressed me up as a beggar (beggar's still a light term for taong grasa), they allowed me to walk on barefoot even though there are shatters of broken glasses, they did not know where I can take a bath after the shoot, and most importantly, they lose the certificates and photos which Chelly devoted her time to finishing. But I got Sputnik Sweetheart as a reward. Yeah, and that's it.

This is so irritating and now it's me who's suffering. I asked Ariadne to settle it since they're the one who lose it. I confronted her already about this and I think it reached her other groupmates. But the certificates were not of the same quality like what Chelly printed that's why I got irritated. I can't give those type of printed photos to those who sponsored trees. They paid P200.00 for each.

What's more irritating is that it's only Ariadne who's suffering. How about her other groupmates? I don't see them making any move in replacing the collaterals.

Boss Kaye reprinted the photos but it was not nicely done. I can't give them to their sponsors.

Venice and I talked already. I said all my hard feelings to her telling her that I felt alone in this and that I'm giving up.

She told me not to. She and Chelly helped me again. I don't know now what to say to Ariadne, Kaye, and everyone concerned if we meet again. Right now, I don't want to see people.

I will check my email later to see the more arranged, more organized photos that we'll just have to print. I hope this ends soon.

Just like the collaterals lost, I think I'm also losing my enthusiasm also. I don't want to do this anymore. I don't want to be with the org. I want to focus now with my studies. I really want to study abroad or enroll in an M.A. or a second degree. I look pathetic, I don't know how I'm going to support myself.

P.S. Venice and I talked already. It's a good thing I was able to release those hard feelings. But why do I feel I'm still at fault here? She said it's okay to express these feelings and concerns, and later she said that it's still my responsibility to produce those lost collaterals. I don't know now what to think anymore.

Sunday, September 25, 2011

Kakanins and Bombs

I'm in the middle of transcribing our interview with Sir Jojo of Bench Philippines. I fell asleep. I'm suppose to transcribe it earlier. But since there were a lot of distractions such as the internet, I'm suffering now. We have an interview with BBDO Guerrero/Proximity Philippines later at around 1PM and I'm still not done with this.

I have a lot of blog topics in mind but I'll just write it later. I'll continue on transcribing.

I feel like using the comfort room. I need to drop the bomb. I learned this habit of dropping bombs every morning from a high school classmate/friend so that you don't get your stomach upset during class.

I'm eating nilupak. It's a type of kakanin. I know you know it. I don't like eating any kinds of kakanins anymore. Those are the type of food I've grown up with. I'm so fed up with eating kakanins, I remember when I was in grade school I would buy suman when it's still dawn time and it will serve as my breakfast. And that's the reason why I seldom eat kakanin. I've outgrown it.

(count how many times I've mentioned kakanin, hahaha!)

 Note: This post was originally composed in the morning of September 23.

Monday, September 19, 2011

On my recent boring blog posts

Hi! I know recently I've been boring you with my boring posts. But I don't care. Hahaha. I'll write anything I want.

Note: This is intended for all the readers who will find out about my blog but does not have my permission to read it.

Online Shiz (I can't think of a creative title)

Good morning blog! Today I'm going to discuss about the hazards of utilizing the world wide web, internet, social media, and social networking sites. However you call the crap!

But wait, why don't we start on differentiating/defining these terms?

So I googled over these and here are the definitions I found.

According to Beal (2010) in her webopedia.com article, the internet is the massive collection of interconnected networks that connects millions of computers around the world while the world wide web or the web is more of a tool or a search engine which utilizes scripts such as HTTP (Beal, 2010). The web uses browsers like mozilla firefox and google chrome to access web documents (Beal, 2010).

So in simple terms, the internet is the network (of computers) and the web is the tool, the way, or the instrument to access different information.

The same goes with the definition of social media and social networking (sites) except that both are tools. Social media is macrolevel and it reaches a wide range of audience while social networking is personal (microlevel), two-way and engages small group of persons and individuals (Hartshorn, 2010). Hartshorn (2010) further defined social media as similar to the channel which broadcasts messages (it's like newspaper, radio, and TV) while social networking centers to conversations, where people with similar backgrounds form relationships (Hartshorn, 2010).

So it's like this. In social media, you are talking to a large audience and it's difficult to respond to them one by one while in social networking, you are talking to another person or a small group of persons that's why conversation is easy.

So why am I talking about all these bullshit?

Well last Friday, we conducted this interview with Gang Badoy of Rock Ed Philippines. Rock Ed is an organization which does volunteer works and also does educational discussions while rocking (playing music) at the same time, thus the name Rock Ed.

We were tasked to interview her (actually not to interview her but to gather data about our topic) for our Comm Res 197 class (Special Topics in Communication Research: ICTs, Civic Engagement, and Social Mobilization). By the way, I took this subject because I have a crush on our professor here (kilig laugh).

So we went to this restaurant in Kalayaan Avenue in Quezon City and met Miss Leslie of Rock Ed and conducted an interview with her while waiting for Miss Gang Badoy. A little bit later, Gang arrived. An awarding ceremony for the last year's winners of the Colgate Fresh Confidence Fresh U contest was happening when we arrived there. Finally, we were able to talk to Gang Badoy.

I learned a lot from our interview with her I'll just share the highlights.

I learned that social media and social networking (sites) are public spaces. We should be wary of what we click, what we post, and what we publish here. Social media, social networking sites, blogs among others are not like diaries that you can keep or hide in some secret place and let others read when you die. Online accounts are public and what you post here does not assure you privacy.

So when we post all that we feel like posting, we better think twice before doing so. We may harm other people or harm ourselves by a simple post. I'm not advocating the "Think before you Click" campaign of GMA News TV. I'd like to quote what my Pol Sci 14 professor would write in our test papers: "answer hapzardly on your own peril". In my case "post haphazardly on your own peril".

Moving on, she also shared that if we become famous and the time comes that we are faced with an issue or a controversy, the best thing to do is to remain silent and don't spill a thing. Eventually the issue will slacken and will fade, people will forget about it. Gossip, if it keeps on recurring becomes true and credible.

Talking about credibility, as much as possible we should use our real name (or "close-to-our-real-name" name) in our online accounts for validity purposes. This is one problem Badoy faced during the Ondoy relief operations.

I want to end it here. I'll write again next time. It 4:30. I haven't had a good sleep, I only slept a few hours after (or before?) I ate dinner yesterday. Woah! This blog post is so cool it has a reference list! Very cool.


Reference:
Badoy. G. (2011, September 16). Personal interview.

Beal, V. (2010, June 24). The Difference between the Internet and World Wide Web. Retrieved from http://www.webopedia.com/DidYouKnow/Internet/2002/Web_vs_Internet.asp

Harsthorn, S. (2010, May 4). 5 Differences Between Social Media and Social Networking. Retrieved from http://socialmediatoday.com/index.php?q=SMC/194754

Sunday, September 18, 2011

Kisapmata film: A reflection

Last sleepy Tuesday (did I tell you that I don't sleep on Mondays?), we watched Kisapmata, a 1981 film by Mike De Leon starring Charo Santos (now Charo Santos-Concio of Maalaala Mo Kaya), Jay Ilagan (who looks like the Roco twins), Vic Silayan and Charito Solis.

The screenplay is by Nick Joaquin who, according to our professor quit writing novel after finishing two novels and who, also according to our professor is a great writer (yes, I give the credits to my prof). One of his work is Reportage on Crime. In the book is one of the crime story called "The House on Zapote Street" where the plot of the story was based according to a Wikipilipinas article.

According to Sir Patrick (my prof in Film 100 by the way), Nick Joaquin predated magical realism, a genre in writing which one of my favorite author-- Gabriel Garcia-Marquez, uses in his novels especially in 100 Years of Solitude (and in his other books as well). Also, according to Sir Patrick, Joaquin predated new journalism than the US.

I'm amazed that such a Filipino writer exists before. But according to our professor's description of Nick Joaquin, he is arrogant and a bragger (like this blog site, bragger. Just kidding).

Anyhow, I'm just amazed by the fact that a Filipino discovered or used magical realism earlier than Gabriel Garcia-Marquez and the new journalism of the US (Nick Joaquin is a journalist by profession I think).

Setting that aside, we defined the genre/s of the film Kisapmata as follows:

  • Romance
  • Romance-suspense
  • Suspense-thriller
  • Family melodrama
  • Crime (Suspense-crime)
  • Family horror
  • Gothic horror

It's funny how we came up with these genres of the film.

Obviously, romance because the story revolved around the struggle a.k.a. the Romeo + Juliet formula/attempt of the protagonists of the story-- Mila (Charo Santos) and Noel (Jay Ilagan). 

We defined suspense in class as when you know something in the story that the characters, protagonists, soon-to-be-victims don't know. Get it? So, the film is also categorized as a Romance-suspense. 

Next, suspense-thriller. I don't really know (or I forgot) what the elements of a thriller film is. I think I have notes of it in the notebook that I lose. Too bad I can't review it. I'm not making any excuses. But I already defined what a suspense is. I think we came to describe it as suspense-thriller mainly because the father in the film (Vic Silayan) makes us, the audience, feel scared when the father gets in the way between the couple, discouraging them to live separately from them.

Horror is defined as having elements like light to very dark lighting, setting usually happens at night, and night or evening shot is mainly used. Also, sound effects like ticking of the clock, creaking of doors, barking of dogs, etc. are elements of horror films which are obvious (actually not very obvious if you're not a keen observer of the film) in the film. The setting of the film has many recurring scenes at night. It is a family horror and a gothic horror at the same time. What differentiates a gothic horror from a family horror is the presence of incestuous desire (presented when the father seemed to have a desire for Mila but it was not clear, it was only suggestive for me. Still.). I should've been more educated about the characteristics of a horror film had I attended Sir Patrick's faculty colloquium but I had Span 11 that time.

It is also a family melodrama. According to our discussion, melodrama came from the words melos, meaning music, and drama which pertains to acting.

I'm going to define what a family melodrama is based on what I understood while watching the film. Obviously there's a presence of a family and their struggle about a certain family issue (i.e. Mila has to live separately from them since she has a married life now but the father-- Tatang won't allow because she's the unica hija), thus the drama and the presence of sad music in the film.

Crime genre lastly, is also found in the film in the last part where Tatang committed the crime. He shot the family and shot himself in the end too.

Basically this is our discussion in class and this is what I can recall (with the help of my notes). Not that I'm bragging about this or whatever. I wanted to share that for the second time, I was disturbed while watching a film. The first time was when we watched Elephant by Gus Van Sant. I wanted to write about it also but was not able to do so. Maybe I did not have blog yet that time or was really busy.

Anyway, it's just too disturbing how tragic the ending of the film was. I was not really used to seeing such type of film. Through time, Filipino mainstream films became corny. According to our prof, Kisapmata was an entry for the Metro Manila Film Festival. It had many omitted scenes because of the accusations that it criticizes the government. Elements like the evil laughter of Tatang was resembled to a demon and resembled to President Marcos because the father is like a dictator in the film. The depiction of resorting to violence when the father cannot get what he wants was clear in the film as well. And at the beginning scene, a text was flashed on the screen saying (not in exact words) that the film is based on a true story "ang istoryang ito ay hango sa totoong pangyayari". It connotes that the story in the film is a reflection of what's happening in the society during that time.

Anyway, to sum it up, Filipinos struggled and condemned the government through film as well. But they've done it artistically and subtly.

Do we really need to be oppressed again like before to create a better work of art (in the form of film, literature, song, visual art, among others)?


Reference:
Kisapmata (film). (n.d.). Retrieved September 18, 2011 from the Kisapmata (film) Wikipilipinas: http://en.wikipilipinas.org/index.php?title=Kisapmata_(film)